In September of 2020, a revised application for the regulation of Massage Therapy in the Province of Alberta was submitted to the government of Alberta by the Transitional Council for the College of Massage Therapists of Alberta (TC-CMTA).

The Minister of Health responded to that proposal, asking for additional information and revisions.

Currently the TC-CMTA together with the Canadian Massage and Manual Osteopathic Therapists Association (CMMOTA), the Certified Registered Massage Therapist Association (CRMTA), the Massage Therapist Association of Alberta (MTAA) and the Natural Health Practitioners of Canada Association (NHPC) have formed the Working Group for the Regulation of Massage Therapy in Alberta. This group, chaired by the president of the TC-CMTA, and with equal representation from the four associations, is currently working on the revisions to the application that have been requested by the Alberta Minister of Health. As their work progresses, they provide updates through Joint Statements to the members of the four Associations.